Go Back   OnlinePoker66 Forum : Your daily poker board! > Outside poker > General Discussion
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

General Discussion Discuss anything outside poker here, your favorite car, movie, other games...
Raining Cards link and threads are here!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2008
stef69666's Avatar
Poker Emperor
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 627
Credits: 437,910
Send a message via MSN to stef69666
Default Virus Warning

Hey Guys,

I've just received this email and thought I should alert you all to it.

I'm not sure how true it is but didn't want to take the risk....

You should be alert during the next few days. Do not open any message with an attachment entitled 'POSTCARD FROM HALLMARK,' regardless of who sent it to you.

It is a virus which opens A POSTCARD IMAGE, which 'burns' the whole hard disc C of your computer. This virus will be received from someone who has your e-mail address in his/her contact list. This is the reason why you need to send this e-mail to all your contacts.

It is better to receive this message 25 times than to receive the virus and open it.
If you receive a mail called' POSTCARD,' even though sent to you by a friend, do not open it! Shut down your computer immediately!!!!
This is the worst virus announced by CNN. It has been classified by Microsoft as the most destructive virus ever. This virus was discovered by McAfee yesterday, and there is no repair yet for this kind of virus. This virus simply destroys the Zero Sector of the Hard Disc, where the vital information is kept.
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-21-2008
nickos1001's Avatar
Poker junkie with a monkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 413
Credits: 113,919
Thanks for the warning Steff..

Just a thought for all and a suggestion.. i keep a full back up of all hard drives on an external..

Just incase something like this happens..

Then a full restore is possible without the need for expensive tech guys..
__________________
Time is Money and i love... Monkeys..
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-21-2008
OP66fozzy's Avatar
Pokerholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Derby UK
Posts: 1,967
Credits: 30,490,649
Send a message via MSN to OP66fozzy
This is a hoax virus, ignore it.

People start these off then the web gets clogged with everyone sending the warning to each other. All you need to do is Google 'postcard from hallmark virus' and you will see it is a hoax.
__________________
Boys know how to swear, men know when to swear.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3rnxQBizoU

Please be kind enough to click my bluff

http://www.onlinepoker66.com/rpg/bluff.php?id=1473
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2008
nickos1001's Avatar
Poker junkie with a monkey
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 413
Credits: 113,919
I just searched google..

"the fact that there are real e-card viruses out there, the "POSTCARD" warning above is, in fact, a hoax. It is simply the newest of many variants of a false alert that began circulating several years"

However some websites do say it is a real virus.. So my suggestion belive both and you will be fine..
__________________
Time is Money and i love... Monkeys..
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2008
Bob19's Avatar
Poker Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 29
Credits: 84,252
thank you for the info.
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2008
Poker Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Georgia..USA
Posts: 49
Credits: 83,240
Send a message via Yahoo to basic
ty for the warning everyone
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2008
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: falkirk wi ma baby boy:D love shaun loads
Posts: 916
Credits: 87,504
thnx 4 the warningg..i also dont open email if its blank thts another warning
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-21-2008
ladyhawk65's Avatar
Poker King
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: i live in a small island in europe . MALTA
Posts: 459
Credits: 1,653,149
thanks i m reciving one also on my msn like i have a site on my name its a virus too i think
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC2
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios