Go Back   OnlinePoker66 Forum : Your daily poker board! > Outside poker > General Discussion
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

General Discussion Discuss anything outside poker here, your favorite car, movie, other games...
Raining Cards link and threads are here!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-2008
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: hoppers crossing
Posts: 2,455
Credits: 2,775,778
Send a message via MSN to colling_wood
Default warning

Please
Be Extremely Careful
especially if using internet mail such as Yahoo, Hotmail, AOL and so on.

This information arrived this morning direct from both Microsoft and Norton.

Please send it to everybody you know who has access to the Internet.

You may receive an apparently harmless email with a Power Point presentation
'Life is beautiful.'

If you receive it DO NOT OPEN THE FILE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES , and delete it immediately .

If you open this file, a message will appear on your screen saying: 'It is too late now, your life is no longer beautiful'

Subsequently you will LOSE EVERYTHING IN YOUR PC and the person who sent it to you will gain access to your name, e-mail and password.

This is a new virus which started to circulate on Saturday afternoon.

AOL has already confirmed the severity, and the antivirus software's are not capable of destroying it.

The virus has been created by a hacker who calls himself 'life owner.'


PLEASE SEND A COPY OF THIS EMAIL TO ALL YOUR FRIENDS and ask them to PASS IT ON IMMEDIATELY
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-16-2008
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,698
Credits: 6,407
Thanks for passing this on.
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-2008
69kindagal's Avatar
lookin for her 69kindaguy
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: in bed
Posts: 7,141
Credits: 1,667,393
Send a message via MSN to 69kindagal
thanks very much collig xxx wood
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2008
jockney's Avatar
King of Hats
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: East end of Glasgow. Scotland
Posts: 6,140
Credits: 2,132,878,620
This particular one is a HOAX virus scam. One of several similar varieties. If you are ever in doubt http://www.symantec.com/index.jsp <<this site is good for finding information about potential threats and viruses.
__________________
My Hovercraft is full of Eels
Click here to find a quick way to get credits
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-16-2008
crinkle62's Avatar
THE VAMPIRE QUEEN
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Small island known as Britain.
Posts: 9,489
Credits: 31,566,189
Send a message via MSN to crinkle62
Thnx guys. x
__________________


MORS CERTA, HORA INCERTA
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-16-2008
unclepony11's Avatar
***Censored***
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: in a pub (in scotland)
Posts: 10,277
Credits: 9,790,429
Cheers mate.
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2008
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4,044
Credits: 1,997,615,690
i have heard of the jockney virus. but not this one
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2008
Ace_Queen's Avatar
Poker Empress
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bolton. England
Posts: 2,786
Credits: 1,511,526
Thanks Collingwood .............
__________________
When its my TURN my cards always FLOP in the RIVER ...............:
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2008
del_boy's Avatar
THE THINKER
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Derry, Northern Ireland
Posts: 5,510
Credits: 9,197,598
thank u colingwood.well done for passing on this info.
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-16-2008
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 56
Credits: 8,140
thanks CHARLES THE CHAMPION I WILL STAY CLEAR OF THAT 1 IF I SEE IT
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-16-2008
BIGSMUDGE's Avatar
Poker Emperor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Birmingham England (centre of the universe )
Posts: 1,114
Credits: 389,639
yeah i posted the same warning on 18th July (collingwood you posted on that thread ) while I agree, its better to be aware of a hoax than get caught out , I was sent this link by Ausangel
http://www.hoax-slayer.com/life-is-b...irus-hoax.html
__________________
You dont stop laughing because you grow old
You grow old because you stop laughing
:
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-16-2008
Ausangel's Avatar
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Italy for the summer :)
Posts: 5,572
Credits: 104,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by jockney View Post
This particular one is a HOAX virus scam. One of several similar varieties. If you are ever in doubt http://www.symantec.com/index.jsp <<this site is good for finding information about potential threats and viruses.
As Jockney said this is a hoax email and should not be passed on...there are a few websites that you can check the validity of these emails, take a look and you'll probably find a few more that have arrived in your inbox.....

http://www.hoax-slayer.com/life-is-b...irus-hoax.html
__________________



May Angels watch over you..TW
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-16-2008
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: hoppers crossing
Posts: 2,455
Credits: 2,775,778
Send a message via MSN to colling_wood
i thought i was doing right thing to warn others.if it has been posted b4 sorry.
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-16-2008
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 49
Credits: 8,009
hoax or not i will keep a an eye on it thx 4 warning.and first time i seen this thread
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-16-2008
BIGSMUDGE's Avatar
Poker Emperor
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Birmingham England (centre of the universe )
Posts: 1,114
Credits: 389,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by colling_wood View Post
i thought i was doing right thing to warn others.if it has been posted b4 sorry.
no prob for me m8 better safe than sorry ,
__________________
You dont stop laughing because you grow old
You grow old because you stop laughing
:
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-16-2008
LfcFan's Avatar
You'll never walk alone
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,308
Credits: 734,930
If i dont know who sent the e-mail then i dont open it,simple.
Isnt all spammy crappy email not worth bothering with?
Cant believe u opened it in the 1st place.
Digg this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC2
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios